City Council

The City of Portage operates under a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council consists of seven members including the Mayor and the Mayor Pro-Tempore. Council members are elected to four year terms staggered every two years (three Council members elected every two years). The Mayor is elected every two years. The City Council is responsible for adopting and amending city laws and ordinances, determining city policies and standards, and authorizing the annual city budget. The Council also determines city tax millage rates, utility rates, approves contracts and agreements for the city and directs the City Manager. Council meetings are held twice a month on Tuesdays, at 7:30 p.m., in the Portage City Hall Council Chambers. 

The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the city and is the chief policy advisor to the City Council.  Citizens are encouraged to contact the City Administration with concerns or complaints about city services by calling Complaint Resolution at (269) 329-4404 or by using the Report It! function.


2013-2015 Portage City Council



Mayor Peter J. Strazdas
(269) 327-4478
peter.strazdas@portagemi.gov
On Council Since 2001
Term Expires: 2015
Mayor Pro Tem Jim Pearson
(269) 327-9136
jimpearson4@gmail.com
On Council Since 2011
Term Expires: 2015


Councilmember Nasim Ansari
(269) 327-0016
nasim.ansari@portagemi.gov
On Council Since 2013

Term Expires: 2017


Councilmember Richard J. Ford
(616) 560-8328
richard.ford@portagemi.gov
On Council Since 2013
Term Expires: 2015


Councilmember Patricia Randall
(269) 324-7779
patricia.randall@portagemi.gov
On Council Since 2009
Term Expires: 2015

Councilmember Claudette Reid
(269) 491-9725
claudette.reid@portagemi.gov
On Council Since 2005
Term Expires: 2017


Councilmember Terry R. Urban
(269) 323-8160
terry.urban@portagemi.gov
On Council Since 1997
Term Expires: 2017