CITY OF

PORTAGE

A Place for Opportunities to Grow Department of Community Development

SIGN PERMIT APPLICATION

Property address where sign will be located:

Owner Name: Address:
City: State: Zip: Phone:

Description of Work:

Completion date or display date(s): Zoning District:

Contractor Name: Address:

City: State: Zip: Phone: Fax:
Applicant or Contractor Signature: Date:

Required Sign Information

Permanent Freestanding Sign(s) or Temporary Freestanding Sign(s)

e A scaled plot plan showing locations of existing and proposed sign(s). Please include location, setback from property lines,
distance between signs and sign height. NOTE: Setback is measured from the leading edge of the sign. NOTE: Property lines

must be staked for verification when the site inspection is performed by the city.

Plot Plan complete: Y N

e A scaled drawing/picture showing new sign(s) face, type, dimension of sign and support/anchoring structure (i.e. footing details),

and total sign height. ~ NOTE: Sign height is measured from adjacent street grade or top of curb to highest point of sign(s).

Sign Drawing/Picture complete: Y N
e Number of signs: Area (per sign side)
e Type of Construction [llumination: internal external
e Changeable copy board: Y N Area (per sign side)

Permanent Wall Sign(s) or Temporary Wall Sign(s):

e A scaled drawing showing locations of existing and proposed sign(s) including building wall area dimensions, location(s),

height(s), and support/anchoring structure. Also, submit a scaled drawing/picture of the wall sign with dimensions.

Location Drawing/Sign Picture complete: Y N
e Number of signs: Area (per sign side)
e Type of Construction [llumination: internal external

7900 South Westnedge Avenue ¢ Portage, Michigan 49002 ¢ (269) 329-4477
www.portagemi.gov



Required Permit Fees

Sign Type Quantity Fee

Permanent Freestanding $110.00 per application
Permanent Wall $110.00 per application
Permanent Copy Board* $110.00 per application
Sign Panel Change Only** $55.00 per application
Temporary or Directional $55.00 per application

Note: * No additional fee if installed with new or replacement freestanding sign.
** Applies when no structural changes to freestanding or wall sign structure are proposed.

TOTAL CHARGES:

Sign Permit, Construction and Inspection Reminders

1. The applicant or owner must call the Department of Community Development at 269-329-4477 or 269-
329-4466 to request a final inspection once sign is installed. At this time, the property line and leading
edge of the sign should also be staked for setback verification.

2. Electrical permits are required for all new wall signs (including interior signs) with new circuits, and
new freestanding signs with new circuits (does not include change of sign panels). For other signs,
electrical inspector will determine electrical permit requirements per applicable code provisions.

3. Michigan Law requires that you must contact MISS DIG at 1-800-482-7171 three working days before
you break ground.

4. The sign permit will expire if the work authorized is not commenced within 180 days from the date of
issuance of the permit, or if the work authorized is suspended or abandoned for a period of 180 days.

5. Please review the Sign Permit after it is issued for important information. In addition, please refer to the
following sections of City Code for applicable sign regulations: Sections 42-540-42-553 and Sections
42-1271-42-1285 for applicable sign regulations.
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