Show All Answers
Voter registration rules and requirements were recently updated by the Michigan Bureau of Elections.
Voters may register in person or by mail up to 15 days prior to an election. You may register to vote at the Office of the City Clerk or any Michigan Secretary of State Branch Office. You may also register to vote by mail.
Voters may also register within 14 days of an election, up to and including Election Day, only through the following:
By law, voters must be 30-day residents of a jurisdiction to be qualified to vote in that jurisdiction.
No, you do not have to register each time. Registration is permanent as long as you continue to live in the city or township where you are registered.
You can register at any of the 131 Secretary of State Offices, the office of your local city or township clerk, the office of your county clerk and other state offices.
Yes, you may. However, individuals who register to vote by mail must vote in person in the first election following their registration unless they are 60 years of age or older or have a recognized permanent disability.
All registered voters are eligible to vote via absentee ballot. Ballots may be obtained via postal mail until 5 p.m. the Friday before an election. Ballots may also be requested in person directly at the Office of the City Clerk up until 4 p.m. the Monday before an election - however, any ballots requested the day before the election must be voted immediately at City Hall.
No. Election law allows for only the registered voter to obtain a ballot. However, you may pick up an application for an absentee ballot for your spouse and you can deliver a voted ballot of any member of your immediate family or any a member of your household.
No - election law specifically states that power of attorney does not apply for voting purposes.
Any voter may ask to be placed on the permanent absentee ballot list.
Being on the permanent list does not guarantee a ballot for every election. Rather, it means that you will automatically receive an application for an absentee ballot. The application must be completed and returned to the Office of the City Clerk prior to receiving a ballot.